Annual Winners

1980 Photomicrography Competition


Martin L. Scott

Advisor in the Scientific Application of Photography
Eastman Kodak

Martin L. Scott is an advisor in the scientific application of photography at the Eastman Kodak Company, specializing in photomicrography, medical photography and archival properties of photographic materials. He has done research in graphic arts processes, and has a patent in gravure printing technique. He designed films for photogrammetry and infrared photgraphy in color. He is co-founder of the Rochester Microscopical Society.

John A. Reffner

Principal Research Microscopist
American Cyanamid

John Reffner is Principal Research Microscopist for American Cynamid Research Laboratories and was formerly the Assistant Director of the University of Connecticut’s Institute of Materials Science. Dr. Reffner has taught graduate courses in microscopy at the University of Connecticut and the University of New Haven and microscopy short courses for the McCrone Research Institute, the American Chemical Society, the Northeastern Association of Forensics Scientists, the New York Microscopical Society and the Northeastern Association of Microscopists.

John D. Taylor

Professor/Chairman, Department of Biological Sciences
Wayne State University

John Taylor is Professor and Chairman of the Department of Biological Sciences and Professor of Department of Radiation Oncology at Wayne State University. His research interests include biochemical and structural aspects of cellular and developmental processes of normal and abnormal cells. He is a Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, and received the Probost Award for Academic Achievement in Science.

James P. Kendrick

Chief of Medical Photography
George Washington University

James Kendrick is Chief of Medical Photography at George Washington University, School of Medicine and Health Sciences in Washington, DC. He is a Registered Biological Photographer, a graduate of the U.S. Navy Photo School and the University of Maryland and guest lecturer at medical and photographic seminars in the United States and in South America. He has been the recipient of both the Medical World News Award and the Biological Photographic Association’s Medical Education Award for specimen photography.