Annual Winners

1983 Photomicrography Competition


Jack Kath

Senior Research Fellow, Visual Communications
Merck Sharp & Dohme

Jack Kath is a senior research fellow in charge of visual communications in the Merck Sharp & Dohme Laboratory Division of Merck & Co., Inc., Rahway, NJ. He has won many photographic awards, including honors from the Biological Photographic Association and the PPA Scientific/Technical Congress Competition. Mr. Kath currently has two exhibits at the Smithsonian Institute. He is the past president of the New York Microscopical Society.

Stanley Klosevych

Head of Health Sciences Communication Services
University of Ottawa

Stanley Klosevych is head of Health Sciences Communication Services at the University of Ottawa in Canada, where he directs a modern documentation and communications department involved in medical photography. Mr. Klosevych is the author of a textbook on microscopy and photomicrography. He is a past recipient of the William V. Gordon Award and the Louis Schmidt Award. He is also a past president of the Biological Photographic Association.

Martin L. Scott, FBPA

Advisor in the Scientific Application of Photography Eastman Kodak
Eastman Kodak

Martin L. Scott is an advisor in the scientific application of photography at the Eastman Kodak Company, specializing in photogmicrography and biomedical applications. He lectures extensively on photography as a research tool. He is a member of the New York Microscopical Society, the Northeastern Association of Microscopists, a fellow of the Royal Microscopical Society, and a president of the Biological Photographic Association.

R. J. Gray

Senior Staff Engineer, Metals and Ceramics Division
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

R. J. Gray is senior staff engineer in the Metals and Ceramics Division of Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Oak Ridge, Tennessee. He is the author of over ninety-five technical papers on various aspects of metallography. Dr. Gray is a fellow of American Society for Metals, a past president of the International Metallographic Society, and has received the Henry Clifton Sorby Award for “Outstanding Contributution to the Field of Metallograhphy.”